Scoring is Random

Oh,the power of words!   Wait, wait, don’t click back to facebook.  I am not going to get all philosophical on you, I promise.  I have been know to philosophize once or twice in my life but mostly….NOT.  My Sidewalk friends know that my thinking process is too fragmented and flawed  to establish any real philosophies.  Fair warning, I have been known to get nostalgic.   What I am trying to say here, is that I Googled “Just Dance” for the Wii and I found these three glorious words……”Scoring is random.”  There was, of course, lots of articles and explanations written about the game.  When I say the words, “Scoring is random.” I was so relieved.  Now, I didn’t have to concentrate so hard on making my right hand be in the right place at the right time.   Now, I didn’t have to overwork my right arm in a furious attempt to punch up my score.  Now, I didn’t have to be totally confused when my motions were exactly the opposite of the dancers on the screen and I would score a ‘Great.’  Now, I can wear tank tops this summer providing the temperature gets above 75 degrees and my upper arm flab isn’t sagging past my elbows.  Now, I can just totally forge the scoring and have some fun.   Oops, I got carried away.   No matter what I do for exercising I would not categorize it as fun. I have to say, I would much rather be moving and grooving to ‘Hot & Cold Chick’ then walking around Rockey Butte Park in -4 degrees temperatures like we had today.   I would be on Cold Chick!   I think from now on I am just going to pretend the controller is a microphone and I am preforming before thousands of adoring fans.  That could be fun, providing I don’t look out the window and see squirrels rolling around on their backs, holding their stomachs and laughing hysterically. Anyway, I have to be careful since I am all about Pavlov’s conditioned response theory.  It doesn’t take much for me to associate stimuli with a response.   I know this because I was at a Christmas Party last night.   Some of the guests were playing “Minute to Win it” games.   They played the games to snippets of songs to go along with the games.   I wasn’t a participant but it was fun watching.  Especially when they had to jiggle ping pong balls out of a Kleenex box tied to their butts.   (And I worry about how I look Just Dancing in the privacy of my own basement!) Anyway, the song Cotton Eyed Joe started playing.   Three beats of the song and I was standing up ready to start some boot stomping moves.      Luckily I realized what I was doing before I started swinging my arms around above my head in lariat style. Quickly I sat down on my hands.  I was a little shocked how strong the urge was to get up and start dancing to Cotton Eyed Joe.  Really what I was more shocked about was that I would have remembered any of the moves.   The short term memory section of my brain is a very small area.  As I get older that section seems to be shrinking along with most of my bones.   Usually I delete mindless thoughts out of that area as quickly as possible.   That is why I can watch reruns  of Law and Order” Criminal Intent countless number of times.   Well, for that reason and also the fact that I just plain like to watch Goren.  I was so disappointed when I heart there wasn’t going to be a new season of Criminal Intent.  But so goes it in the world of television.   One just never knows if their favorite shows are going to last another season or  get canceled.  It is always best not to develop any serious attachments to any TV programming so you don’t have to deal with any devastating detachment issues after your favorite show gets axed. Wait you probably don’t know what I am trying to say, because I don’t know what I am trying to say.  I think what has happened here is that I was in Flashback mode.   I was thinking Television 50 years ago when we had two channels to choose from and canceled programs were gone forever, so we thought.  Back in those days we actually had to get up off the couch to change to the other channel or turn up the volume.  Imagine that!  Then there would be times when the picture on the screen would start jumping and scrolling horizontally up and down.   Then someone would have to again get up off the couch(we fought over who’s turn it was to get up and do something about the TV)  and turn the “horizontal hold” button until the picture was full on the screen again and holding steady.   Sometimes the picture wouldn’t hold for long.  If we had to adjust the horizontal hold too many time, we resorted to giving the TV a huge whack on the side.   That worked too, but we only did that if dad wasn’t watching.   (See I told you I could get all nostalgic)  When Gilligan’s Island got canceled you just had to accept the fact that you just wouldn’t ever see:

“Gilligan, The Skipper too, The millionaire and his wife, The move star The professor and Mary Ann, Here on Gilligans Isle.  (Did you sing along?  Beats me how a mindless song gets filed in long term memory.)

Now that television has improved, grown and expanded we can watch all the reruns we want.  Isn’t that a “kick in the head”. probably right in the short term memory section.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

