Cameras, Card, and Phones, Oh My!

I want to sincerely thank everyone and anyone who reads my blog.  While I know some people hat read my blog, I don’t know everyone.  But each and every one of you mean the world to me.  I truly write with the hopes that my blog brings a bit of joy, a smile or even laughter to at least one person’s day.  Enough crappy stuff happens on any given day that a few giggles are well welcomed. [I am such a cup half full kind of person – NOT]

You will be happy to know that I filled out my statement for the police department and handed it in to them.  Now I have these nagging thoughts that I will be subpoenaed to take the stand and testify.  I won’t have any trouble repeating what happened that evening, but I worry about cross examination.  I have these visions in my mind that by the time the defense attorney gets done with me I will have confessed that I was in cahoots with the homeless guy and we had this elaborate plan together that I  would lock him up I the library and he would get a warm nights’ sleep.   I will end up in penitentiary.   Trying to be a cup half full type person, I was thinking if I had computer privileges while I was there I could write and post blogs more often. But my cup half empty personality kicked in and I realized there isn’t anything to write about from prison.

 

Last week, when I posted my poem for Taylor on my blog I wanted to include a picture.  At the going away party, my co-worker, Courtney took a picture of Taylor and me with my phone.  When it came time to upload the picture from my phone to my computer I was so proud of myself to remember that I have to remove the memory card and put it into the adapter ScanDisk in order to transfer the picture from my phone to my computer.  I even remembered where the adapter disk was at.  Unfortunately for me, the memory card was still in the adapter.  Now I know there is a way to get the picture off the phone and onto the memory card.  I was trying to remember the process but nothing specific was coming to mind.  I did know I needed to take the back off of my phone.  Once I had the back of the phone off, I thought I remembered the process.  Here is a rendition of the thought process that went through my head.

“Oh yeah.  If I remember correctly this little cardboard card is a place holder.  I need to take that out and insert the memory card into that spot.” [Which I did.]

For some odd reason the phone then turned off.  When I turned it back on there was this huge exclamation point and a message that said, “Please insert SIM card.”  In the bottom right hand corner it said, “SOS.” So I pushed that button and I got a message asking me if I wanted to make an emergency call.  Well not knowing how to get the picture off the phone isn’t exactly and emergency.  My next thought was that I must have inserted the memory card incorrectly.  So I turned the memory card 90 degrees and re-inserted it.  The phone still wanted me to please insert the SIM card.  My thought: “Stupid phone I need the memory card inserted so I can get my picture uploaded to my computer.”  Thinking I needed to turn the memory card another 90 degrees and try to insert it again I got a tweezers and attempted to remove the card.  It was stuck.  I had no choice but to make a trip my friends at the AT&T store.  I put the adapter disk and the Sim card in a little baggy and drove up to the AT&T outlet to ask for help.  Of course all the sales people were busy and people were waiting in line.  While I was waiting I studied my 3 choices of sales people.  I didn’t see “Ms really nice understanding older lady that helped me the last time.  RATS!  All three sales persons were really young gals.  Since they were all equal in age I considered their positions behind the counter.  I started to pray that when it was my turn to be waited on, the gals farthest to the left and who was next to the wall would be free. I so did not want to end up in the middle where twice as many people would be able to hear my dilemma. The cell phone gods were with me that day.  I got the gal near the wall. I hugged the wall as much as possible and quietly tried to explain my problem.  It probably would be easiest to explain if I wrote out the conversation that took place.  SG (Sales Girl), ME (Me)

 

SG: How can I help you?

ME:  I don’t know if you can help me.  But first I have a question.  What is this little cardboard card?

[I proceeded to show her the card in the baggy.]

She was silent for a few moments too long, looked at me, blinked, and said:

SG: That is your SIM card.  What is it doing out of your phone?  The SIM card is basically your phone.

I held up my cell phone and asked,

ME: Isn’t this my cell phone?

SG: Well yes, but the SIM card is what makes your cell phone work.  It has all your phone information on it that allows your phone to actually work.

ME: OK then, I have a memory card stuck in the spot where the SIM card belongs.

SG: I should be able to get that out for you.

And bless her heart.  Not only did she remove the memory card from the SIM location, she also said,

SG: This actually happens more than you think.

Well, I think she was being very nice and very kind because I think I am the only person on the planet that doesn’t know that the SIM card actually is the key component that makes the cell phone work.  She is getting my vote for employee of the month!

Then she showed me where the memory card is supposed to be inserted and re-inserted the “all important” SIM card.  Once all cards were properly inserted in their correct spots I asked if she could move the pictures on my phone to the memory card.

SG:  Absolutely. no problem.

She handed me my cell phone and said,

SG: Just choose the pictures you want to transfer to the memory card.

I was silent for a moment too long, blinked at her, handed the phone back to her and said:

ME: Ah, can you do that for me?  I have no idea how to even get to my pictures.

This sales girl had the patience of a saint.  She took the phone from me and pushed buttons all the while trying to explain the process to me.  I was totally lost.  I do remember he showing me the “MOVE” choice, pushing that button and telling me the photos were now on the memory card.  I am thinking it will take a small miracle for me to ever locate that “MOVE” choice again. Just for your information I put the memory card back in my phone after I successfully transferred the picture of Taylor and me to my computer and uploaded it into my blog.  However, I did wonder for three days what that weird icon was at the top of my phone meant.  I believe that when I left the AT&T store, the super nice sales girl did enter my name into a National Registry Database of people who should never own a smart phone. However, while shopping at Walmart the other day I saw this, so I am not totally giving up on the i-phone possibility yet.

Mickey's Photos 063

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cameras, Card, and Phones, Oh My!

  1. Deb says:

    I am so wanting a smart phone…but after your experiences, I think I should probably just stick with the dumb phone I have right now! Good luck on the study manual, my friend!!! 🙂

    • mickeyrenner says:

      I am right there with you my first friend. I so am wanting a smart phone but I keep telling myself how much I really like my dumb phone. Although I am encourage by the manual. They obviously let “dummies” have I-phones! Love to you, my friend!

  2. no no no, you are too young to give up, you know the more you screw up the more you learn. Don’t be afraid to go forward backward. Good luck in the court room you may need it…

    • mickeyrenner says:

      Hey Ken, I am a slow learner, however I think I have screwed up enough times to earn a doctorate degree in something! If I am subpoenaed I will let you know the court day. My testimony would be some great entertainment I am sure. Thanks so much for being my blog buddy!

  3. Mary Mercado says:

    Such a cute and funny post. I’m actually in no position to comment. Since I’m eqaully Phone, TV, Remote, Camera, iPhone, and GPS Challenged! In fact, your super computer Geek nephew told me to NEVER divulge we’re related if I get a phone call for a potential Job for him. Since he works in the IT (I think it stands for Information Technology vs Idiot Tolerant), I’m to never say he’s my son…because I’m postive I AM in the Ntional Dababase Registery!!

    • mickeyrenner says:

      Thank you Mary for reading my post and commenting. I still believe you are ahead of the technology game then I am. However, I confess when I wrote the post my thought was that you were also in the National Database Registry. No offense, Sis.
      I love you, Mickey

Leave a Reply

