Sidewalk

I have wanted to participate in the daily challenge of the one-word prompt for months.  In fact I would say 8 months.  I vaguely remember New Year’s Eve, as probably 88.8% of the rest of the population.  The thing with New Year’s Eve is that I don’t do New Year’s resolutions no matter how much I need them.  Just for an example, if I would resolve on New Year’s Ever to start eating a healthy breakfast of fruit, granola, and yogurt by 8:00 am New Years Day I will have already eaten 2 chocolate chip pancakes with a can of Redi-Whip.  So even though I officially don’t make New Year’s resolutions, I sort of consider some in my own mind.  In my own mind I will tell myself I am going to use my Pedi Perfect electronic foot  file religiously every day until the heels of my feet are as soft as New Year’s baby’s behind. By January 10th the bottoms of my feet have such a dried thick layer of impermeable skin that I could walk across the Sahara desert barefoot at high noon.  So since January 1st I have been unofficially dedicated to attempting to write a blog based on the one word prompt.  To be honest this is something I really thought I go do.  I always loved writing assignments in school that included a challenge of some kind.  I remember in 2nd grade we were to write a sentence using as many of our spelling words as possible.  To this day I still remember the sentence.  The rat hit the hat off the fat cat that sat on a mat with a bat. I remember the sentence so well because 88.8% of the other students wrote the very same sentence.  Sadly 8 months have gone by and I have not written a single blog from the one word prompt challenge.  However, I have faithfully checked every day for the word prompt.  For the first couple of weeks I operated on the mindset that obviously not every word is going to speak to me and I had to be patient and give the challenge a chance.  After 3 months of unsuccessfully prompted by one word, I realized the whole challenge wasn’t clicking for me.  Daily I would read the word and my mind would go completely blank.  When I say completely blank I mean that my mind would experience a black hole of complete nothingness.  It makes me wonder how I would do on a personality profile test when you are asked to say the first word that comes to your mind when they say a single work to you.  I shudder to think where I would be right now if someone knew that after 245 different words my best response is a blank stare and a slow blink.  Until today!   Today’s one word prompt is “Sidewalk.”  Considering the fact that the name of my blog is ‘Sidewalk” Thoughts I got this one.   On July 23, 2006 I decided to start taking walks every day before I had to go back to school as the High School Librarian.  When I returned home from my very first walk I realized that while I was walking I was thinking of all sorts of random thoughts.   For some reason I decided to write down what I thought about on my walks. So for the next 28 days I kept what I called a walking journal.   Just for clarification I didn’t take the journal with me on my walks.  I would write my thoughts down after the walk in a notebook.   After school was in session for a couple of months I found my walking journal and re-read it.  I thought some of the things I wrote down were funny.  I thought that if I thought some things were funny, maybe other people would think they were too.   So I typed up my journal and submitted it to Publish America for their consideration to publish the journal.  I choose Publish America because it cost me absolutely nothing to have the book published.  Basically I had nothing to lose when hit send.  That was what I liked most about the whole process.  Publish America accepted my journal and agreed to publish my walking journal.   However, they informed me that I needed to come up with a different title as “The Walking Journal” was already being used or was too similar to another book with that title.   I renamed my book “Sidewalk Thoughts”.   The sole purpose of the book is to the same as the purpose of my blog.  I strongly feel that everyone could use more laughter in their lives.  The next summer I wanted to repeat the walking/writing process but I found out that I really loved to rollerblade.  As a result I didn’t keep a rolling journal because I realized that the only thoughts I had in my head were about not falling down and breaking something.   Since my book Sidewalk Thoughts is 28 daily journal entries it is much like my blog.  With many thanks to Word Press I am able to post my Sidewalk Thoughts in blog form.  Every once in a while someone will ask if I have written another book yet.  After my divorce, I thought about a sequel title, “Life in the Gutter” but so far the blogosphere seems to best suit my needs.

This entry was posted in Daily Prompts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sidewalk

  1. Deb says:

    Welcome back, my first and forever friend! I’m hoping inspiration will now come more often to you! ❤️

  2. Jay says:

    Thanks for the laugh. Surprised you did not include sprinkles with the chocolate chip pancakes. 😀😀

  3. Jay says:

    Thanks for the laugh. Surprised you didn’t include sprinkled with the chocolate chip pancakes.

  4. Mary Mercado says:

    We missed you. Does 2 words count as a dual challege? If so “don’t quit” is mine. I love your posts!

Leave a Reply

